Ravindra Kerr win top honours at NZC Awards


Rachin Ravindra had a breakthrough World Cup in 2023, scoring 578 runs.

Rachin Ravindra and Melie Kerr won the top honours at the New Zealand Cricket Awards ceremony in Christchurch.

Ravindra, 24, became the youngest player to win the Sir Richard Hadlee Medal whereas Kerr took home the Debbie Hockley Medal for the second consecutive year. Additionally, Kerr also won the ODI and T20I Player of the Year awards.

Kane Williamson, who notched up his 32nd Test hundred recently, was named the Test Player of the Year. Daryl Mitchell won the Men's ODI Player of the Year whereas Mitchell Santner won the corresponding T20I award.

The night marked a very successful year in international cricket for Ravindra, who scored 578 runs at the 2023 World Cup, level with Kane Williamson's tally in the 2019 edition. He then replicated his success in Test cricket with a scintillating 240 against South Africa in the first Test and played a crucial role in New Zealand's first-ever Test series win over the opposition.

Kerr, on the other hand, was recognized for being the leading ODI run-scorer with 541 runs at an average of 67. She was also the joint leading T20 wicket-taker and second highest T20I run scorer for her team.

Full list of New Zealand Cricket Awards:

  • Sir Richard Hadlee Medal - Rachin Ravindra

  • Debbie Hockley Medal - Melie Kerr

  • Bert Sutcliffe Medal for Outstanding Services to Cricket - Trudy Anderson

  • Test Player of the Year - Kane Williamson

  • Men's ODI Player of the Year - Daryl Mitchell

  • Women's ODI Player of the Year - Melie Kerr

  • Men's T20I Player of the Year - Mitchell Santner

  • Women's T20I Player of the Year - Melie Kerr

  • Men's Domestic Player of the Year - Nathan Smith

  • Women's Domestic Player of the Year - Emma Black

  • Super Smash Men's Player of the Year - Danru Ferns

  • Super Smash Women's Player of the Year - Melie Kerr

  • The Redpath Cup for men's first-class batting - Kane Williamson

  • The Ruth Martin Cup for women's domestic batting - Suzie Bates

  • The Winsor Cup for men's first-class bowling - Matt Henry

  • The Phyl Blackler Cup for women's domestic bowling - Emma Black

  • GJ Gardner Homes New Zealand Umpire of the Year - Chris Brown