Euro 2024: Netherlands star Frenkie de Jong ruled out due to ankle injury in massive midfield blow

Frenkie de Jong

The Netherlands have been handed a major blow in their Euro 2024 build-up as star midfielder Frenkie de Jong was ruled out due to an ankle injury on Monday (June 10).

Netherlands, who won the Euro's in 1988 are one of the top contenders to win the championships in Germany this year, but will have to do without the Barcelona midfielder. Xavi Simons will likely fill the void left by De Jong in the Starting XI, but no replacement has yet been announced by the Dutch in the original 26-man squad.

Frenkie de Jong ruled out of Euro 2024

"Everyone went straight to see him. It's hard for him, it's hard for us," Ake said after the Dutch won 4-0 in a Euro warm-up in Rotterdam.

"Frenkie is an important player for us and he is super in the squad," Manchester City defender Ake said.

"It's not a good sign," Koeman said. "We'll do tests and we'll see where he's at."

De Jong was picked in the Dutch squad despite suffering from an ankle issue with the hope that he could recover in time for the tournament opener. He had suffered the issue while playing for Barcelona against Real Madrid in La Liga. He was ruled out of the remaining La Liga season with the hope he could return in time for the Euro 2024

The Netherlands will open their Euro 2024 campaign against Poland on June 16 before playing France and Austria. With them in group of death, a poor start to the tournament could see them face elimination from the group stage.

Netherlands Euro 2024 squad

Goalkeepers: Bart Verbruggen (Brighton), Mark Flekken (Brentford), Justin Bijlow (Feyenoord)

Defenders: Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool), Stefan de Vrij (Inter), Micky van de Ven (Tottenham Hotspur), Daley Blind (Girona), Matthijs de Ligt (Bayern Munich), Nathan Ake (Manchester City), Denzel Dumfries (Inter), Lutsharel Geertruida (Feyenoord), Jeremie Frimpong (Bayer Leverkusen)

Midfielders: Teun Koopmeiners (Atalanta), Ryan Gravenberch (Liverpool), Xavi Simons (RB Leipzig), Joey Veerman (PSV), Jerdy Schouten (PSV), Gini Wijnaldum (Al Ettifaq), Tijjani Reijnders (AC Milan)

Forwards: Steven Bergwijn (Ajax), Memphis Depay (Atletico Madrid), Brian Brobbey (Ajax), Wout Weghorst (Hoffenheim), Donyell Malen (Borussia Dortmund), Cody Gakpo (Liverpool)